top of page

New world of Cisco certifications (effective date: 2020)

The new certification portfolio of Cisco will is already announced on June 10, 2019. Updated training courses will be rolled out over time beginning in June 2019, representing a broadness and depth of crucial skills in key technology areas. Cisco Live 2019 kicked off and they announced some fascinating news! A new, unique CCNA! Designed to prepare professionals for associate-level IT job positions, the new CCNA will test a wide range of knowledge and skills.

New certification exams, includes :CCNA, CCNP, CCIE,Cisco Certified ,DevNet Associate, Cisco Certified DevNet Professional and Specialist certifications will be available on February 24, 2020.

You can also watch and follow videos on Cisco Certifications Facebook page here!

CCNA covers networking and security fundamentals, as well as automation and programmability. But you ONLY have to take ONE exam, the Cisco Certified Network Associate (200-301 CCNA), While there are no prerequisites for the 200-301 exam, Cisco recommends at least one year experience implementing and administering Cisco solutions, solid understanding of networking basics and of course knowledge of basic IP addressing. The new CCNA will replace the following certifications:

  • CCNA Cloud

  • CCNA Collaboration

  • CCNA Cyber Ops

  • CCNA Data Center

  • CCDA

  • CCNA Industrial

  • CCNA Routing and Switching

  • CCNA Security

  • CCNA Service Provider

  • CCNA Wireless

And now for those who are already CCIE certified: Step1 : Give yourself a gift! (Recovering Phase)

Take a couple of days off and travel. You appreciate it ! Preparing to test for the CCIE is a frustrating ,tough and life-consuming process. Months and maybe years of hard work grinding away surely put a strain on your family life,stress levels, friendships and sleep habits. But at the end it will definitely pay off! You accomplished a big goal and reached a high standard of networking excellence.

Take a break. Travel with the family/friends for a long vacation. Network with friends who are unsure if you’re still alive 😃 Re-engage with the non-tech based hobbies you’ve had to put aside. Go to the GYM and burn that belly fat! Enjoy glorious sleep I mean sleep like a KING! Unhindered by dreams of killer packets and route tables. Seriously, work and career accomplishments are important, but the rest of your life is too. Get back into the swing of your real life and away from networking for a while.

Step2: Start Recertification ASAP!

Now that you’re rested up, it’s time to face the cold hard truth of certification. Without recertifying, certsexpire, and all your time and effort is down the tube. Don’t fret though, Cisco is very clear about what their recertification will require. It will benefit you to start planning now, so the two-year deadline doesn’t sneak up on you.

One of the options for getting recertified is earning credits through the Cisco Continuing Education Program. Participants take courses to earn credits, and 100 credits within two years re-certifies you. The course offerings include a variety of technical seminars and webinars and instructor-led labs designed to keep your skills sharp and diversify your skill set.

What should a CCIE do right now with the new certification framework in 2020? 🤔

First thing first, the Recert-cycle is now being changed to match the other certs such as CCNA and CCNP, so that the Recert-cycle is 3 years!

This means that the suspended status is gone. The Cert is now valid for 3 years and there is no suspended status! Hoooray! But wait a minute: This means that you need to keep track of your date because there is no “grace period”, after 3 years, if you miss to get recertified, you officially OUT! This also means that effective 24 February 2020, if you are still active, the “suspended” year is now an active year and your date to Recertify is postponed. If you are in suspended status ,then the remaining time of your suspended status is converted to active status.

Another change is that the CCIE RS and CCIE Wireless are being “retired” 👴 and are now both part of the CCIE Enterprise track. They do have a common Core exam, ENCOR, but they do still have separate dedicated CCIE lab exams. If you are CCIE RS or CCIE Wireless certified, when the new policy goes live, you will be CCIE Enterprise Infrastructure (RS) or CCIE Enterprise Wireless certified. Your old certification will live on for the life time of that cert. Finally, the lab exams include a certain amount of automation. These are the topics for Enterprise Infrastructure:

5.1 Data encoding formats

  • 5.1.a JSON

  • 5.1.b XML

5.2 Automation and scripting

  • 5.2.a EEM applets

  • 5.2.b Guest shell

  • 5.2.b i Linux environment

  • 5.2.b ii CLI Python module

  • 5.2.b iii EEM Python module

5.3 Programmability

  • 5.3.a Interaction with vManage API

  • 5.3.a i Python requests library and Postman

  • 5.3.a ii Monitoring endpoints

  • 5.3.a iii Configuration endpoints

  • 5.3.b Interaction with Cisco DNA Center API

  • 5.3.b i HTTP request (GET, PUT, POST) via Python requests library and Postman

  • 5.3.c Interaction with Cisco IOS XE API

  • 5.3.c i Via NETCONF/YANG using Python ncclient library

  • 5.3.c ii Via RESTCONF/YANG using Python requests library and Postman

  • 5.3.d Deploy and verify model-driven telemetry

  • 5.3.d i Configure on-change subscription using gRPC

Now I will summer it up for your better digestion!

In general:

At the associate level, candidates will take a single, comprehensive exam. At the professional level, users will need to take a core exam

and their choice of so-called concentration exam in the same technology track. At the expert level, users will need

to take a core exam the corresponding lab exam. Specialist certifications will be awarded for passing any

written, proctored exam, with the exception of associate level exams.


Cisco have consolidated and updated CCNA training and certification into one course, one comprehensive

exam that covers entry-level networking skills across technologies, such as basic IP fundamentals,

network access, IP connectivity, and basics of automation and network programmability, and security

fundamental skills.


The CCNA certification will no longer be required as a prerequisite for professional certifications,

giving learners the ability to start where they choose in their learning journey.


In the new CCNP program, each CCNP certification requires only two exams: one core exam and one concentration exam of your choice, so you can focus on your interests and needs. *And core exams in each technology track also serve as qualifying exams for CCIE lab exams.


Cisco is announcing new DevNet certifications focused on validating the skill sets of software

developers, DevOps engineers, automation specialists, and other software professionals.

The new offering will help unleash the full capabilities of the new network by educating network

infrastructure engineers and software developers in application development, automation, DevOps,

Cloud, and IoT.


All product names, logos, and brands are the property of their respective owners in Austria or other countries. All company, product and service names used on this website are for identification purposes only. Pheniix is not affiliated with or an official partner of Cisco, CompTIA,Dimension Data, VMware, Amazon, Microsoft, Certified Ethical Hacker, (ISC)², Juniper, Wireshark, Offensive Security,Google, GNS3, F5, Python, Linux, Java, OpenStack, Vagrant, Ansible, Docker, GIT, , Blockchain or other companies. Use of these names, logos, and brands does not imply endorsement. The opinions expressed on pheniix are personal perspectives and not those of Cisco, Dimension Data or any other company. Pheniix runs as an independent blog.

bottom of page